Masculine Cards

Best Catch- To a Great Guy

a post by Jackie

A ton of work went into this card and I couldn’t be happier with the way it turned out. This card uses elements from several sets but they came together seamlessly. Keep reading to see how exactly I made this masculine card for that fisherman in your life.

Best Catch – To A Great Guy Card

Let’s start off by talking about all of the elements to this card, cause there is a lot going on. I wanted to use the Crackle Paint background stamp because it reminded me of the pealing paint on my Grandparent’s old boat. I used Crumb Cake ink on coordinating cardstock to make my base. Next, a layer of Early Espresso, cut smaller than a normal layer to show off more of the crackle paint. I ran my Whisper White layer through the Subtle Embossing Folder to give a slight texture to the card cause it’s more fun to have an embossed layer than plain white don’t you agree?

I used the Best Catch Stamp Set and coordinating Catch of the Day Dies to create these fishing accents. My fish was stamped on Whisper White then colored in using my Water Colored Pencils and finished off using a Blender Pen to blur my color lines and combine all the shades. Don’t forget to add the brown cattail on top of your weeds! I also love the pop of Pumpkin Pie fish peeking through the weeds.

I wanted a more generic card that I could use for a variety of occasions. I chose to use the “To A Great Guy” sentiment from the Pedal to the Metal Stamp Set. I stamped it in Early Espresso on my Whisper White and cut out using the Stitched Nested Labels. I also wanted to bring in the blue shade from my fish, so I used a larger label and cut out a piece of Pretty Peacock cardstock to layer behind my sentiment.

A piece of Linen Thread to act as the fisherman’s line was the final touch to this card. I attached to the back of the fish then secured the center where the line gets tangled with a Mini Glue Dot. And there you have it.

Product List

What cards have you made that feature the Best Catch Bundle? I’d love to see your ideas. Be sure to tag us in your social media posts so we can see your latest cards & creations.

Shopping Link: https://www.stampinup.com/ecweb/default.aspx

Leave a comment